Student Professional & Honors Organizations

Please refer to the organizations below for more information.

Alpha Chi Honor Society
Type Advisor Student Contact Description/Information
Honors Society Organization David Rumsey,  dwrumsey@indianatech.edu

Kayla Crecelius, kmcrecelius@indianatech.edu

Hannah Dodd, hmdodd01@indianatech.net  Alpha Chi is a national college honor society that admits students from all academic disciplines. Membership is by invitation only and is limited to the top 10 percent of an institution’s juniors, seniors, and graduate students.

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
Type Advisor Student Contact Description/Information
Professional Organization Leslie Grundman,  lagrundman@indianatech.edu Geoffrey Duckmann,
geduckmann01@indianatech.net
ASME enables collaboration, knowledge sharing, career enrichment, and skills development across all engineering disciplines, toward a goal of helping the global engineering community develop solutions to benefit lives and livelihoods.

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
Type Advisor Student Contact Description/Information
Professional Organization Brian Lewandowski,  bmlewandowski@indianatech.edu

Julie Mansfield,  jemansfield@indianatech.edu

Hannah Dodd, hmdodd01@indianatech.net ACM, the world’s largest educational and scientific computing society, delivers resources that advance computing as a science and a profession.

Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES)
Type Advisor Student Contact Description/Information
Professional Organization Jack Phlipot,  jwphlipot@indianatech.edu Jennifer Banks, jabanks01@indianatech.net BMES serves as the lead society and professional home for biomedical engineering and bioengineering.

Chi Alpha Sigma (Athletic Honors Society)
Type Advisor Student Contact Description/Information
Honors Society Organization Joshua Wolfe,  jpwolfe@indianatech.edu N/A Chi Alpha Sigma recognizes college student-athletes who earn a varsity letter in at least one sport while maintaining a 3.4 or higher cumulative GPA throughout their junior and senior years.

Criminal Justice Society
Type Advisor Student Contact Description/Information
Professional Organization Dominic Lombardo,  dplombardo@indianatech.edu Phoebe Trouten, pntrouten01@indianatech.net The American Criminal Justice Association’s goals include promoting criminal science programs to students as well as keeping students in the program and heightening their interest in criminal justice.
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
Type Advisor Student Contact Description/Information
Professional Organization Wasim Alim,    wjalim@indianatech.edu Matthew Billeck,
mabilleck01@indianatech.net
IEEE is the world’s largest professional association for the advancement of technology. The group’s core purpose is to foster technological innovation and excellence for the benefit of humanity.

National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE)
Type Advisor Student Contact Description/Information
Professional Organization Susan McGrade,  semcgrade@indianatech.edu Cameron Owens,
ccowens01@indianatech.net
NSBE’s mission is to increase the number of culturally responsible black engineers who excel academically, succeed professionally, and positively impact community.

Society of Manufacturing Engineering (SME)
Type Advisor Student Contact Description/Information
Professional Organization Steve Dusseau,  spdusseau@indianatech.edu Justin Curlin,  jrcurlin01@indianatech.net SME promotes an increased awareness of manufacturing engineering and keeps manufacturing professionals up to date on leading trends and technologies.